WOD: November 6, 2012 – DANIEL

Standard

WOD: “Daniel”
Dedicated to Army Sgt 1st Class Daniel Crabtree who was killed in Al Kut, Iraq on Thursday June 8th 2006.

  • 50 pullups
  • 400m run
  • 21 thrusters (95/65)
  • 800m run
  • 21 thrusters
  • 400m run
  • 50 pullups

Scale: Green band, 55 lb thrusters

Score: 30:28

It’s Election Day, so we are honoring Daniel, who fought for our country in Iraq. When I read this WOD description when it was posted last night, my first thought was, “No way am I doing that!” but I reconsidered, packed my bag & decided to do it.

I left work at my usual time for a 5:30 WOD, about 4:50, but from the moment I got on the road I knew I was in trouble. Traffic was bad everywhere I went, both on the freeway & on the side streets. On top of that, I got stuck waiting for a train at the tracks right before you get to the box. I was already a few minutes late at that point, so I was frantically trying to change in the car, and let me tell you, putting on a sports bra while sitting in your car with your shirt still on is not an easy task. I couldn’t help but think that ‘something’ was telling me not to do this WOD, but I refused to give up. I made it to the box, changed, and my coaches assured me that I was fine on time & not to stress. Whew, I’ve never been late to a workout before &  I hate feeling rushed. Finally, I was ready for Daniel.

I started with a green band but had an orange band to add to it if I needed to, but I never did!! I did the full (scaled) workout and not only didn’t add the orange to my green band, I also managed to NOT tear my hands!! The runs were tough, the first 400 m started off & I felt good, but it didn’t take long for me to get a painful side stitch that slowed me waaaaay down. My time was slow, but I finished the whole workout so I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

